Skip to Main Content

2021 Faculty Teaching Awards

Share This Story

Faculty who have demonstrated teaching excellence, dedication and commitment to Bay Path University and its students are honored each year with Faculty Teaching Awards. Below are the 2021 faculty award winners. Congratulations to all!

Richard J. Briotta Outstanding Faculty Research, Scholarly Activity, and Creative Works Prize

Professor Janine Fondon smiling at camera wearing a white shirt with black patterned jacket.Janine Fondon, M.A.
Chair, Undergraduate Communications Department; Assistant Professor, Undergraduate Communications

Given annually in memory of Dr. Richard Briotta, who served on the Bay Path faculty and as Director Master of Science in Communications and Information Management until his untimely passing in 2015, this award recognizes the work of a full-time faculty member that has been published, presented, performed, or patented, and serves to elevate the profile of Bay Path University. Faculty work may include the advancement or creation of new knowledge in a particular discipline.

Vana Nespor Award for Teaching Innovation at The American Women’s College

Megan Piccus smiling at the camera, standing in front of window with a city scape behind her. She has short hair and is wearing a blue top with beaded necklace.Megan Piccus, M.S.
Program Director, Business Programs at The American Women's College

This award is intended to recognize an academic program director at The American Women’s College who is dedicated to the promotion of student success for adult women through curricular advancement with the integration or development of digitally enhanced, data-driven, innovative, or cost-effective learning experiences in our accelerated undergraduate model.

Thumbprint Award

Professor Foley is a women with short brown hair, wearing a white shirt with a black jacket. She is smiling at the camera.Sheila Foley, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Criminal Justice

The Thumbprint Award recognizes a faculty member who has shown innovative or creative thinking in applying the Bay Path University Thumbprint in their course(s). The Thumbprint is the signature, defining element of the Bay Path University student experience.

Estelle Leavitt Award for Teaching Excellence

Professor Mennella is smiling at the camera. He is wearing a dark colored suit and has glasses.Thomas Mennella, Ph.D.
Director, Applied Laboratory Science and Operations; Associate Professor, Biology

Named in honor of Estelle Leavitt who served on the full-time faculty at Bay Path from 1991 to 2011 (including as Chair of the Education Department from 1999 to 2011), the award recognizes faculty who, like Estelle, are passionate educators going above and beyond the call of duty for students and the Bay Path community.

Distinguished Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award

Renee Murray, MBA
Renee teaches in the School of Education, Human & Health Sciences
Rachael Blair, Ph.D.
Rachael teaches in the School of Arts, Science, and Management
Talia Sherbo
Talia teaches in the School of Undergraduate Studies
Mary Flahive-Dickson
Mary teaches in the School of Undergraduate Studies