Skip to Main Content

2022 Faculty Awards

This annual event was held at the Philip H. Ryan Health Science Center on May 16.

Bay Path University honors and recognizes faculty excellence in teaching and scholarship annually with an awards ceremony. These awards commend the efforts of individual faculty members to help build and sustain a community in which the teacher-learner academic experience is valued and prized.

The Estelle Leavitt Award for Teaching Excellence

The Estelle Leavitt Award for Teaching Excellence was established in honor of emerita faculty member Estelle Leavitt, who served on our faculty for 20 years, including as chair of the Education Department for 12 of those years. Leavitt was known for her deep commitment to students and her passion for preparing educators who bring both skill and soul to their classrooms.

2022 RECIPIENT, Assistant Professor Jane Weyant

The Faculty Outstanding Research, Scholarly Activity, and Creative Works Prize

The Richard J. Briotta Outstanding Faculty Research, Scholarly Activity and Creative Works Prize is given to a faculty member in recognition of his or her extraordinary research and publication activity, as well as their contributions in fostering serious academic research within the Bay Path community.

2022 RECIPIENT, Dr. Kristen Lech, Graduate Program Director, Special Education and English as a Second Language

Vana Nespor Award for Teaching Innovation at The American Women’s College

This award is intended to recognize an academic director at The American Women’s College who is dedicated to the promotion of learner success for adult women through curricular advancement with the integration or development of digitally enhanced, data-driven, innovative or cost-effective learning experiences in our accelerated undergraduate model.

2022 RECIPIENTGretchen Heaton,  Dean of Career Development & Executive Director of WELL

One Bay Path Award

The One Bay Path Award recognizes a faculty member or program director who embodies the following values in his or her work: a collaborative spirit that brings our community together; adaptability and resourcefulness; creates conditions that empower each Bay Path learner to achieve success; and fosters partnerships that open new pathways for learners.

2022 RECIPIENT, Megan Piccus, Senior Director, Business Programs, The American Women’s College

Other Faculty Were Recognized for Their Contributions With the Following Teacher Awards:

Distinguished Teaching Award / Traditional Undergraduate Program
Sandi Sherry-Pitzer

Distinguished Teaching Award / The American Women’s College
Dr. Yashira Oropeza-Diaz

Distinguished Teaching Award / School for Arts, Science, and Management
Professor Dawn Reed

Distinguished Teaching Award / School for Education, Health, and Human Services
Dr. George Bowers

Congratulations to our award winners!