Skip to Main Content

2019 Donna Shavlik Award Presented to President Leary

On Saturday, March 9, Bay Path’s President Carol Leary received the prestigious 2019 Donna Shavlik Award from the American Council of Education at their annual Women’s Leadership Dinner as part of the 101st Annual Meeting in Philadelphia. President Leary joins an illustrious group of women who have been recognized for their contributions to education, including Donna Shalala, former president of the University of Miami and US Secretary of Health and Human Services, and now a US Congresswoman representing Florida’s 27th district; and Beverly Tatum, former acting president of Mt. Holyoke and President Emerita of Spelman College.

One of the most significant awards in higher education, ACE established the Donna Shavlik Award to honor the long and outstanding service of Donna Shavlik, former director of ACE’s Office of Women in Higher Education. Presented annually, the award honors an individual who demonstrates a sustained commitment to advancing women in higher education through leadership and career development, campus climate, and mentoring.

from left: Christina Cutlip, senior managing director and head of National Advocacy and Federal Relations Liaison, TIAA; Sherri Lind Hughes, associate vice president, ACE Leadership; ACE President Ted Mitchell; Carol Leary, president, Bay Path University; Gailda Pitre Davis, director, ACE Leadership; Christina Proscia, managing director, Institutional Client Services, TIAA.